RSS

Third Day

11 Jul

I really enjoyed today as the library opens slightly later on Thursdays. For this reason I was able to some admin and start on one of my allotted projects as discussed with my mentor on my first day. The ‘weeding’ project consists of looking at an area of books that haven’t been used for a while and putting them aside for consideration. The next step is determining if the books are in good condition, if they are, then they may be transferred to another branch. This activity was most enjoyable for me, it is something I could do all day.

After lunch, I was taught how to repair books and how to make labels for new books. Another activity I enjoy is looking for books that have been recorded as misplaced and or books that have been requested by patrons. I also enjoy tidying up books at the end the day, making sure my allocated area is ready for the next day. I was able to shadow another librarian today and I am most thankful to be able to learn such a diverse set of skill at this branch.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in WEB101

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
